Student Newsroom

The Student Newsroom immerses undergraduate and graduate college students in a digital media environment by providing hands-on experience during the three-day Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet.

Google's contribution helps make possible lodging and travel for Student Newsroom student participants.

Google’s contribution helps make possible lodging and travel for Student Newsroom student participants.

Supported for the fourth year by Google, 20 select students will produce content for the ONA13 website before and during the conference under the personal guidance of professional mentors. Students will also get the chance to attend ONA13 programming led by experts in digital journalism, network with attendees and acquire and flex new digital media skills. All expenses — lodging, travel and registration fees — are paid.

Sixteen Student Newsroom mentors with digital skills will guide one to two students before and during the conference, working one on one with them to help develop story ideas and advise coverage production.

2013 Student Newsroom

Brandi Bottalico


Towson University

Tercius Bufete


California State University, Chico

Anthony Cave


Florida International University

Beth Cortez-Neavel


University of Texas at Austin

Graham Clark


University of Southern California

Annie Daniel


The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Laura Davison


University of Missouri

Brittney Figueira


University of Massachusetts Amherst

Crystal Garner


The University of Southern Mississippi

Sean Greene


University of California, Berkeley

Nikolas Iubel


Columbia University

Sandhya Kambhampati


Ohio University

Max Knoblauch


Hofstra University

Arik Ligeti


Carleton University

Avni Nijhawan


University of California, Berkeley

Allison Prang


University of Missouri-Columbia

Luke Rafferty


Syracuse University

Beena Raghavendran


University of Maryland – College Park

Madeline Ross


Columbia University

Gabrielle Wright


New York University


Peg Achterman, Northwest University
Gavin Adamson, Ryerson University
Jeremy Bowers, NPR
Emily Chow, Washington Post
Laura Davis, Yahoo! News
Joanna Hernandez, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
Shazna Nessa, John S. Knight Journalism Fellowship at Stanford University Fellow
Caroline Que, Dyno Media
Cindy Rodriguez, Emerson College
Nancy Sharkey, University of Arizona
Leezel Tanglao,
Tiffini Theisen, University of Tampa
Jill Van Wyke, Drake University
Curt Chandler, Penn State University
Sarah Hoye, CNN
Kathleen Culver, University of Wisconsin-Madison